You have stumbled on our little corner of the Internet - we have a so much time, so little to do - strike that, reverse it. Stick with us, and we'll make the future an awesome place to hang out. Learn more about Florida Creatives

Recent News and Links

Florida Creatives Happy Hour, 3rd Mondays @ Crooked Bayou
Likemind Orlando, 3rd Fridays @ Drunken Monkey

Hosted by Xentek
Created with Drupal

Melbourne Hackerspace?

0 BookmarksLog in to bookmark

I'm new to the FL Creatives group - only been to one meeting but I like what I saw. I've read some of the coworking discussions in the forums but I find that my tastes lean towards a different yet similar direction - a hackerspace.

For everyone who doesn't know what a hackerspace is I'll explain. It's a shared space for electronics/computer hobbyists to ply their craft and meet with other people of a like mind. I know we've got a few web-type hackers in the group and I hope to make this something that appeals to them. But I know my interests and talents lie in electronics and programming - Arduinos, Python, solar cells, etc. I hope that there are others out there like me who want to put together a place with decent tools, equipment and space to make their hobby more enjoyable.

I'm not averse to extending the idea to encompass other things like coworking. I think it fits nicely in with the idea and I was always envisioning a lounge/computer area where people could comfortably work and have a cup of coffee. And it would have most of the things necessary for coworking anyhow - wireless, desk space, coffee, printers, office supplies, etc.

Anyone else out there who wants to see something like this? I'd love it if there were.

Groups:

4 comments

ryanprice's picture
ryanprice wrote 7 years 32 weeks ago

Hey Stephen, Thanks for

Hey Stephen,

Thanks for posting here. Since you created an account, I added "Arduino" to my "Interests" list on my profile here.